Gia K. Voeltz

Gia studied Biochemistry as an undergraduate at the University of California, Santa Cruz. She then moved to Yale University and obtained a Ph.D. in the lab of Joan Steitz. Following her graduate studies she joined the lab of Tom Rapoport at Harvard, where she studied the mechanisms that define the elaborate shape of the endoplasmic reticulum. In 2006, Gia started her own lab at the University of Colorado, Boulder. In 2018, Gia was named Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

Postdoctoral Fellows

Raquel Salvador Gallego

Emiliano Zamponi

Eric Sawyer

  • Ph.D. University of Tübingen

       Ph.D. Advisor: Dr. Ana García-Sáez

  • M.S. University of Zaragoza

  • B.S. University of Zaragoza

  • Ph.D. INIMEC, Córdoba, Argentina

       Ph.D. Advisor: Dr. Pablo Helguera

  • B.S. FCEFyN, UNC. Córdoba, Argentina

  • Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley

       Ph.D. Advisor: Dr. Elçin Ünal

  • B.S. Davidson College

Graduate Students

Haoxi Wu

  • B.S. Sichuan University

Jonathan Striepen

  • B.S. Georgia Institute of Tecnology

Tricia Nguyen

  • B.S. University of California, Irvine

Lab Manager

Janet Fox

Electron microscopy specialist

  • B.A. University of Colorado, Boulder

Undergraduate Researchers

Valerie Olsen


  • Jason Lee - Former Postdoc - Assistant Professor at Department of MCB at the Baylor College of Medicine.

  • Robert Abrisch - Former PhD Student - HHMI postdoctoral fellow at UCSD with Samara Reck-Peterson.

  • Peter Cathey - Former Technician - PhD candidate at University of California, Berkeley.

  • Samantha Gumbin - Former Technician - PhD candidate at Stanford University.

  • Melissa Hoyer - Former PhD Student - Jane Coffin Childs Fellow at Harvard Medical School with Wade Harper.

  • Laura Westrate - Former Postdoc - Assistant Professor at Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Calvin College.

  • Karli Heuer - Former Undergrad - Master's in Public Health at Columbia Public Health.

  • Patrick Chitwood - Former Technician - PhD Candidate at University of Cambridge with Ramanujan Hegde.

  • Katelyn Cook - Former Undergrad - PhD Candidate at Princeton University.

  • Zack Opheim - Former Undergrad - PhD candidate at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

  • Ashley Rowland - Former PhD Student - Biology Education Research Associate at CU Boulder with Lisa Corwin.

  • Jonathan Martin - Former Postdoc - Scientist at Gevo Inc., Colorado.

  • Nesia Zurek - Former PhD student - Scientist at IntelliCyt Corp. New Mexico.

  • Amber English - Former PhD student - Postdoc at CU Boulder with Roy Parker.

  • Jonathan Friedman - Former PhD student - Assistant Professor at Department of Cell Biology, UT Southwestern.

  • Lenore Sparks - Former Technician - Recieved PhD at EMBL-Heidelberg with Martin Beck.

  • Roni Dengler - Former Undergrad - PhD candidate at CU Boulder with Joaquin Espinosa and Leslie Leinwand.

  • Jared DiBenedetto - Former Undergrad - Medical Student at Albany Medical College.

  • Brant Webster - Former Undergrad - LSRF Postdoctoral Fellow at UC Berkeley with Andy Dillin.

  • Jesse Clark - Former Undergrad -  PhD candidate at UC Santa Cruz with Doug Kellogg.


Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology


Address: 347 UCB Boulder CO, 80309

Phone: (303) 492-5231